How to instantly have a great day!

orange clock.png

You guys, I think I’m broken. Or wired strangely.

I have come to realise I get a ridiculous amount of excitement and genuine pleasure from giving. I like to surprise people with thoughtful things, and I actually think I get more from this than receiving a gift myself. That’s not to say I’m not extremely grateful for the things I receive in my life- I just get more kicks from seeing somebody else’s face when they get pleasant surprises. Are you the same?

I have a challenge for you. If you’re anything like me, you will love it. It’s so simple. All you have to do is something nice and unexpected for somebody else today. It can be somebody you know, or a stranger, it can be material or sentimental, just something that will give you and the other person all the *feels*.

A recent example from my own personal life, is ordering a kitchen clock on Amazon for my friend in Italy. I’m all the way in New Zealand right now, so it’s not like I could pop over for a chat in her new kitchen, so I showed her I was thinking of her in other ways. It was bright orange- just like her new fridge and she absolutely loved it! I waited patiently for a few days, not knowing when it would get delivered, but after a few days I got her message of appreciation! I had made her day, and my own to be honest.

You don’t have to spend money though. Go clean your Grandma’s house, bake your partner’s favourite dessert, leave a funny little note in your kid’s lunchbox, give a homeless guy a coffee- give his dog a biscuit- SPREAD THE LOVE PEOPLE.

Share with me your ideas and what you have done. Maybe we can make this a daily thing huh?!

2 thoughts on “How to instantly have a great day!

  1. Love this! It was pouring rain today when we got out of work. Absolutely POURING, it was blinding. Only a few of us ran through the rain and pushed through it to make it to our cars (we park in a garage. it’s about a 3-5 minute walk). We were wet and cold, but once we got inside, we turned our heat on in our cars (in the middle of summer!). I looked over at a friend, and I said “Let’s do our good deed today.” So we drove to the front door of our office building, and picked up any other coworkers who were stranded, waiting for the rain to stop, and drove them to their cars! It felt great 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes!! That’s what I’m talking about 😀

      Love it! Sometimes the moments just strike and you don’t even have to go out of your way to make them happen.

      Keep up those good deeds, who knows what will happen if everyone starts doing it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

